Founded in 1905 by Queen D. Amélia

National Coach Museum
Coach

Avenida da Índia, 1361300-300 Lisboa
Tue — Sun, 10 a.m. — 6 p.m.Closed on Mondays
+351 210 732 319geral.mncoches@museudoscoches.pt
Buy Tickets

A museum mission
for everyone

The National Carriage Museum operates with a motivated team dedicated to welcoming a wide variety of visitors, guided by the principle of providing public service to citizens.

In accordance with the principles established by the Framework Law on Portuguese Museums, we continue our mission to preserve, research, and promote this unique cultural legacy.

Agenda & Events

Museu Nacional dos Coches

Founded in 1905 by Queen Amélia, the National Coach Museum houses the world’s most important collection of ceremonial carriages. Each carriage is a masterpiece of woodcarving, painting, and upholstery, reflecting the power and elegance of European courts.

Since 2015, this treasure has been housed in a white concrete and glass structure designed by Pritzker Prize laureate Paulo Mendes da Rocha—a sublime dialogue between monarchical tradition and the boldness of Lisbon’s modernity.

Learn more
1905
Year of founding
2015
Opening of the new building
70 +
Historical vehicles
4
Centuries of history

Coaches and much more

View full collection

“Quinta de Baixo”

In 1726, King João V purchased the “Quinta de Baixo” estate from João da Silveira Telo e Meneses, 3rd Count of Aveiras. Situated beside the River Tagus, in the pleasant district of Belém, in the western part of Lisbon, the estate included a group of noble residences, Belém Palace and a riding school.

1726
1786

Demolition of the original riding school

In 1786, the original riding school was ordered to be demolished and replaced by the present building. The project was commissioned by Prince João—the future King João VI, son of Queen Maria I and King Pedro III—who was a great enthusiast of equestrian art.

Royal Riding School

Construction of the Royal Riding School began in 1787. Although the building’s structure was completed one year later, the exterior and interior decoration continued until around 1828. The neoclassical design, attributed to the Italian architect Giacomo Azzolini, features an impressive hall measuring 50 metres long by 17 metres wide. The two-storey space has galleries at either end of the upper floor, connected by two narrow colonnaded passageways, designed to allow the Royal Family and the Court to watch equestrian displays.

1787
1792–99

Decoration

Between 1792 and 1799, several artists—including the painters Francisco de Setúbal, Francisco José de Oliveira, Joaquim José Lopes, known as “o Bugre”, and the French artist Nicolau Delerive—participated in the interior decoration. The decorative motifs on the ceiling and wall panels of the hall highlight elements associated with equestrian art. The ceiling of the riding school features three large oval medallions depicting allegorical scenes.

Heritage awareness

The presentation of royal carriages in Paris strengthened the intention to bring together and preserve this heritage.

1900
1904

Adaptation of the space

In 1904, when the riding school was adapted into a museum, building works were carried out under the supervision of Rosendo Carvalheira, architect of the Royal Palaces. The paintings were restored by the artists José Malhoa and António Conceição e Silva.

Opening

The Royal Coach Museum was officially opened on 23 May, on the initiative of Queen Amélie of Orléans and Braganza.

1905
1906

First extension

Its initial success led the Queen to commission a new project to display additional carriages.

The Republic

The establishment of the Portuguese Republic brought new vehicles from the former Royal Household, as well as property formerly belonging to the Church, into the collection.

1910
1911

National Museum

The museum adopted the name National Coach Museum.

Illustrated catalogue

Luciano Freire published a descriptive catalogue documenting the collection and its museographic display.

1923
1944

New hall

A side hall designed by Raul Lino was opened, allowing more carriages to be displayed.

New side hall

Later, in 1940, a new building campaign led by the architect Raul Lino expanded the exhibition area through the construction of a new side hall.

1940
1994

Acquisition of the Army General Workshops in Belém

The former Army General Workshops in Belém were acquired by the Secretary of State for Culture specifically for the construction of a new building for the National Coach Museum.

Renovation works

Between 1999 and 2001, the building’s roofs were restored and the ceiling of the Side Hall was renovated, giving the building its present appearance.

1999
2008

New building

Council of Ministers Resolution No. 78/2008 designated the construction of the new National Coach Museum as a flagship project for the regeneration of the Belém–Ajuda area and secured funding for its construction. Brazilian architect Paulo Mendes da Rocha, winner of the 2006 Pritzker Prize, was invited to design the project in partnership with Portuguese architect Ricardo Bak Gordon.

Start of construction

The foundation stone of the new building was laid on 1 February.

2010
2015

New building

The contemporary building on Avenida da Índia, designed by Paulo Mendes da Rocha, opened to the public.

One museum, two locations

The museum brings together the new building and the Royal Riding School, preserving a collection that is unique in the world and transports us through time.

Today

Conservation, Restoration
and Modernisation

Caring for Collections 2026. An integrated program for the preventive conservation and restoration of key pieces in the collection. Technical interventions using state-of-the-art methodologies and systematic documentation.

Moving Carriages 2025. A project to relocate eight National Treasures and over 170 objects from the former Royal Riding School collection to the National Coach Museum, as part of the PRR-funded conservation and refurbishment of the historic building